Sun Trip , Sun Trip: the world on solar bikes!
The Sun Trip The Solar Bike Adventure
Adventurers on solar bikes choosing their course through Eurasia. Inspired by unassisted yacht races around the world, the Sun Trip is writing a new page in the world of overland adventures.

The Sun Trip is a showcase for new forms of mobility. Each adventurer is an ambassador of solar energy and eco-mobility, proving their efficiency and their humanist dimension.
Follow us

Concept

Since bicycles were invented, countless adventurers have gone out and seen the world carried forward by the power of their muscles. Cycling often means freedom and a  slow cruise, roaming overland and discovering the world and its inhabitants. Wheeling around, one gains both cardio and muscle without consuming fuel or polluting: it is a simple means of transportation, but most of all, it’s an active one.

From a Mechanical to an Electrical Innovation

Electrically assisted bicycles – e-bikes or pedelec – brought a revolution to a universe where technological progress was beginning to stall. By adding an engine to a wheel or near the crankset (mid-drive), people that were once foreign to the world of bicycles have started to show interest in it. Suddenly, a 15 km commute became less scary. Sedentary, elderly or disabled people could much more easily integrate cycling into their lives than before. Nowadays, 40% of new bikes sold in France are e-bikes, two thirds of which are intended for urban use. But this electrical revolution does not only change the way we ride in cities. Electrification is gradually being extended to recreational bikes: mountain bikes, road bikes and touring bikes.

But even exciting innovations bring their legitimate share of concerns. High manufacturing costs remain an obstacle to many. The significant weight of the electrical system diminishes its overall efficiency, but lighter equipment could prove fragile and hardly sustain shocks and vibrations over time. What about the issues pertaining to lithium batteries? They are not well recycled and lithium is a non-renewable resource. Road safety concerns quickly prompted authorities to create clear categories to limit and control e-bikes speed and power in order to distinguish them from other motorized vehicles. And even if not fuelled by fossil energy, a question remains : How will this energy be produced?

The Sun Providing Fuel…

On this last question, solar bicycles provide possible answers. What if we could incorporate renewable energy production into a bike’s design? The mileage range could become endless. After accounting for the panels’ manufacturing and disposal, we’d be assured that the bike rides on a low-emission energy. Perhaps it would then be necessary to think over the bike design, to optimize weight, structure stability, solar exposure, panels performance and durability, mechanical reliability … A bunch of creative challenges for the inventor, the tinkerer!

How to Transform Your Bicycle into a Solar One: A Tutorial – excerpt from a GEO Aventures report covering the Sun Trip 2018. Dans les rayons du soleil was published in the GEO Aventure magazine #5 (January-March 2019).

How to Transform Your Bicycle into a Solar One: A Tutorial – excerpt from a GEO Aventures report covering the Sun Trip 2018. Dans les rayons du soleil was published in the GEO Aventure magazine #5 (January-March 2019).

… Until the Rising Sun!

When it comes to testing their robustness, their reliability, and their efficiency, there’s a good way to test these new human and solar-powered machines: design a wide array and see how they manage on worldwide roads. Which one will be faster? Which will resist the harshest conditions? Which one will surprise us most?

The Sun Trip rally gathers a happy bunch of sportspeople, hackers, and backpackers to pit their strength and put their machines to the test. Like one the great sailing or orienteering adventures, they are free to choose their own itinerary. But here, participants travel mostly on roads through a living environment: countryside, villages and cities. Bicycling touring is conducive to human encounters. Electro-solar machines are no exception, and they carry their solar panels as ambassadors of renewable energies and alternative mobility.

<Gallery of images of solar bikes near solar panels? >

To each their own! The solar prototypes will have to complement the strengths and weaknesses of their riders, but also to be designed according to the challenges ahead. Adventurers will have to manage their trip on their own or be given help by the people they meet along the way, without a following vehicle or any other on-site assistance. If the bike breaks down in the middle of the desert, they will have to find solutions to repair or repatriate it. What if they have to weld a custom aluminium bike fork in the middle of Kazakhstan? How not to lose their mind when they get their 45th puncture on the Chinese roadside? Endurance athletes might get a head start, but will they build a machine that meets their expectations? Will they be able to find help in the event of a major issue? Immense freedom also means immense responsibilities.

In this humanist and joyful epic, everyone can try their luck: young or old, experienced backpackers or budding travellers, sportspeople or longtime dreamers, able-bodied or people with disabilities. The strong and diverse personalities of our participants are the basis of the Sun Trip’s success with its audience.

Challenges for all audiences

To meet everybody’s expectations of a good show, the Sun Trip includes a variety of optional challenges since the very first event.

The “Solar Challenge” is certainly the most talked about on the international Sun Trips. It rewards the fastest adventurers that solely rely on solar energy to recharge their batteries. Over the years, the winners of this challenge came to a daily average of 300 km! Raf Van Hulle (2013 and 2018) and Bernard Cauquil (2015) are for the moment the only two champions of this challenge.

Another challenge that is written into our history is related to our adventurers’ communication skills. The “Best Blogger” challenge (as we once called it) allows our audience to vote for the best team when it comes to sharing their adventure. In 2013, Stéphane Scotto di Cesare and Stéphane Briel first won it. In 2015, Team Go4Ecomobility earned the first position. More recently, our dean Françoise Denel was deemed a communication star by our followers.

Communication skills are also taken into account with a Jury’s Choice, a challenge first won by the Quebecoise Anick-Marie Bouchard in 2013, before becoming a reward for adventurers who demonstrate communication versatility while completing the course. Béatrice Cazanave and Yannick Aspe earned this prize in 2015, followed by Jack Butler, the young Englishman, in 2018.

Finally, the “Coup de Coeur Award” was created in 2015 (Thomas Pollet) and kept in 2018 (Youssef El Haouass & Mohamed Said Jbari) to salute performance as much as a certain state of mind in line with our values.

International & Regional Events

If making it to distant lands is what made most people discover the Sun Trip at first, the event has been replicated at a regional scale in France since 2017.

The Sun Trip Tour around the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region was launched in the summer of 2017: a 15-day tour concept, with some assistance. This successful experience was renewed in 2019. This more local concept makes it possible for a wider audience to connect and experiment with the great Sun Trip dream. Other regional events include the Corsica Sun Trip (2019) and the Pirineos Sun Trip (initially planned for April 2020 and now postponed), week-long events including hospitality and prioritizing conviviality.

A story still to be written.

Copyright - 2020
The Sun Trip utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage).

Le concept

Depuis l’invention de la bicyclette, un nombre incalculable d’aventuriers a choisi d’aller voir le monde à la force de leurs jambes. Synonyme de liberté et de lenteur, l’itinérance vélo permet de découvrir le monde au fil de la terre tout en partant à la rencontre de ses habitants. En selle sur la Petite Reine, on gagne en cœur et en muscle sans polluer ni consommer de carburant :  le mode de transport est sobre, mais il est surtout actif.

De l’engin mécanique à l’innovation électrique

L’arrivée des vélos à assistance électrique (VAE), équipés d’un moteur dans la roue ou au niveau du pédalier, a bouleversé un monde où la progression technologique ne semblait plus se faire que de façon marginale. Des personnes autrement éloignées du monde du vélo ont commencé à s’y intéresser : des vélotaffeurs à qui 15 kilomètres faisait soudain beaucoup moins peur, mais aussi des personnes sédentaires, âgées ou handicapées. Ce sont autant de personnes qui intègrent désormais la pratique cycliste dans leur vie alors que jadis, c’était compliqué, voire impossible pour eux. De nos jours, 40 % des vélo neufs vendus en France sont des VAE dont les deux tiers sont destinés à un usage urbain. Mais cette « révolution électrique » ne concerne plus seulement les villes. L’électrification s’étend graduellement aux vélos de loisir : les VTT, les vélos de route et les vélos tous chemins.

L’innovation amène avec elle son lot de questionnements bien légitimes. Le coût d’achat élevé demeure un frein important. Pour garder une bonne efficacité à l’énergie du cycliste, le poids de l’attirail électrique se doit d’être le plus léger possible, tout en demeurant assez robuste pour encaisser les chocs et les vibrations sur la durée. Quid des problématiques liées aux batteries au lithium, une ressource non-renouvelable et encore assez mal recyclée ? Les enjeux de sécurité routière ont rapidement poussé les autorités à limiter la vitesse et la puissance des VAE afin de bien les distinguer des autres véhicules motorisés.  Et quand bien même il ne faudrait pas d’énergie fossile pour faire avancer ces vélos, la question de la production de l’électricité se doit d’être posée…

Du soleil pour carburant…

C’est sur cette dernière question que le vélo solaire apporte des éléments de réponse. Et si le vélo incorporait dans son design de quoi produire sa propre énergie via des moyens renouvelables ? Non seulement l’autonomie kilométrique d’une telle machine serait infinie, mais on aurait aussi la certitude d’une énergie peu polluante, une fois les panneaux solaires fabriqués. Peut-être faudrait-il alors repenser la conception du vélo, afin d’optimiser le poids, la stabilité de la structure, l’exposition, le rendement et la durabilité des panneaux, la fiabilité mécanique…  Que de défis sur lesquels exercer la créativité du bricoleur, de l’inventeur !

Tuto : comment transformer son vélo classique en vélo solaire – extrait du reportage consacré par GEO Aventures au Sun Trip 2018. Dans les rayons du soleil, un article paru dans le magazine GEO Aventure n° 5 (janvier – mars 2019).

… jusqu’au soleil levant !

La meilleure façon de tester la robustesse, la fiabilité et l’efficacité de ces nouveau engins mus à l’énergie du quadriceps et du soleil, c’est d’en concevoir une grande variété et de les lancer sur les routes du monde.  Lequel sera le plus rapide ? Le plus robuste, le plus original ?

Le rallye-raid Sun Trip permet à une joyeuse bande de sportifs, de bidouilleurs et de baroudeurs de mesurer leurs montures à l’épreuve du terrain. Sur un parcours en itinéraire libre à l’image des grandes aventures sur mer ou dans les déserts, les participants parcourent toutefois ici, c’est un environnement humain : les routes, campagnes, villages et villes. Le vélo est propice à la rencontre humaine, et les engins électro-solaires n’y échappent pas, portant leurs panneaux solaires en ambassadeurs des énergies renouvelables et des mobilités alternatives.

< Galerie d’images de vélos solaires près de panneaux solaires ? >

À chaque participant son engin ! Le destrier solaire devra être adapté aux forces et faiblesses de chacun, mais aussi à l’itinéraire choisi et à ses routes plus ou moins capricieuses… Chacun devra être en mesure de se débrouiller seul ou au gré des rencontres, sans équipe de suivi ou d’assistance. Si l’engin tombe en panne au milieu du désert, il faudra trouver de quoi le réparer ou le rapatrier. Et s’il fallait souder une fourche en aluminium au beau milieu du Kazakhstan ? Comment ne pas craquer à la 45e crevaison au bord des routes chinoises ? Si les sportifs d’endurance semblent avoir une longueur d’avance, auront-ils une machine à la hauteur de leurs espérances ? Sauront-il obtenir de l’aide en cas de pépin majeur ? Cette immense liberté, c’est aussi de grandes responsabilités…

Dans cette épopée humaniste et joyeuse, chacun peut tenter sa chance : jeunes ou moins jeunes, baroudeurs expérimentés ou voyageurs en herbe, sportifs ou rêveurs, valides ou personnes en situation de handicap, les personnalités fortes et diverses des aventuriers sont la base du succès du concept auprès de son public.

Des challenges pour tous les publics

Pour répondre aux attentes de tous, le Sun Trip propose depuis la première édition différents types de challenges, dits facultatifs.

Celui qui fait le plus parler de lui sur les éditions internationales est certainement le « Challenge solaire » qui récompense les aventuriers les plus rapides, rechargeant leurs batteries uniquement grâce à l’énergie solaire. Au fil des éditions ce challenge verra ses gagnants venir froler les 300 km par jours de moyenne ! Raf Van Hulle (2013 et 2018) et Bernard Cauquil (2015) sont pour le moment les deux seuls vainqueurs de ce challenge.

L’autre grand challenge qui a fait l’histoire du Sun Trip est lié à la valorisation des talents de communications des aventuriers. Le prix du meilleur blogueur, selon l’intitulé initial, donne la possibilité au public de voter pour les aventuriers qui savent le mieux partager leur aventure. En 2013 le duo d’amis Stéphane Scotto di Cesare et Stéphane Briel étaient les premiers lauréats.  En 2015, c’est l’équipe Go4Ecomobility qui l’emporte. Plus récemment, c’est la doyenne Françoise Denel qui était la star de la communication pour nos suiveurs.

Les capacités en communication sont pris en compte dans le Prix du jury, challenge remporté par la Québécoise Anick-Marie Bouchard en 2013, avant d’évoluer au fil des années vers un challenge récompensant la polyvalence des aventuriers arrivant au bout. Béatrice Cazanave et Yannick Aspe l’emportaient ainsi en 2015, le jeune anglais Jack Butler en 2018.

A noter enfin le « prix coup de cœur », qui a existé en 2015 (Thomas Pollet) et en 2018 (Youssef El Haouass & Mohamed Said Jbari), pour saluer des performances autant qu’un état d’esprit.

Une édition internationale et des éditions régionales

Si c’est en faisant de lointaines contrées que le Sun Trip a démarré et fait le plus parler de lui à l’international, le succès de l’événement se décline depuis 2017 avec différentes éditions régionales, organisées en France.

Le Sun Trip Tour a ainsi été lancé en durant l’été 2017, autour de la région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. Un concept d’un tour de 15 jours, offrant un niveau d’assistance accrue, renouvelé en 2019. Ce concept régional permet d’associer un public plus large au grand rêve du Sun Trip.

A noter enfin la création d’édition régionale Corsica Sun Trip (en 2019) et Pirineos Sun Trip (prévu fin avril 2020 et reporté). Des événements d’une semaine, proposant un accueil chaque soir et qui fait primer la convivialité.

Une histoire à suivre.

 

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre notre actualité.
The Sun Trip utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage).