Sun Trip , Sun Trip: the world on solar bikes!
The Sun Trip The Solar Bike Adventure
Adventurers on solar bikes choosing their course through Eurasia. Inspired by unassisted yacht races around the world, the Sun Trip is writing a new page in the world of overland adventures.

The Sun Trip is a showcase for new forms of mobility. Each adventurer is an ambassador of solar energy and eco-mobility, proving their efficiency and their humanist dimension.
Follow us
  • 39 suntrippers
  • 1 300 kilometers
  • 3 countries discovered
Sun Trip Tour 2017 Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes 1st Event
  1. Charlotte Gille Le challenge Eco Drive
  2. Louis & Michel Les super SunTripper
  3. Jean-Louis Machado Le super combatif

The Regional Sun Trip

15 Days of Accessible Solar Adventure

For the first time, a Sun Trip is no longer synonymous with distant travel.

Summary

Stage 1 – Clermont-Ferrand to  Puy-en-Velay

The start from downtown Clermont-Ferrand to Plateau de Gergovie went well, with a single technical issue for the KU Leuven Team. With the help of the organizers, Bram and Jonathan could quickly fix their torque arm and get back on the road again until le Puy-en-Velay. 

Already from the first day, participants showed solidarity. Small groups formed around different courses as they tried to find their way and help each other. We’d like to salute the action of Béatrice, Yannick and Zab who came back on their steps on the Croix des Gardes pass in order to help disabled suntripper Jean-Louis Machado with his first puncture on the trip.

At the front of the group, Stéphane Bertrand managed to reach first the magnificent pilgrimage town of Puy-en-Velay, knowing that this year, speed isn’t rewarded by any challenge. Its Michel Bertet and Louis Parienté who earned the badge for the Super Suntripper challenge. This new challenge aims at encouraging a wide diversity of itineraries and landscapes in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Region. The team was the only one to head West when leaving Clermont-Ferrand, riding a total of 171 km on this leg.

On Sunday evening, the battery levels were low and the people tired, since participants were slowed down by the thunderstorm and violent showers. 17 teams managed to reach the arrival before 5 PM, the cut-off time for optional challenges.

In the evening, two participants (Ryan Gillespie and Christian Noiret) were picked up by the assistance truck since they were not able to pursue on the stage. Team Smile and Indian participant Sushil Reddy joined the rest of the group at 8:52 PM without electricity and exhausted, but now under a thunderstorm of claps from their peers.


Stage 2 – Puy-en-Velay to Lans-en-Vercors

The Sun Trip Tour 2017’s second stage started with the guest appearance of the mayor of Puy en Velay but also with the president of AURA Region, Laurent Wauquiez. The latter strongly supported the idea of the Sun Trip, underlining its values of “innovation, technology and environment”. Laurent Wauquiez also spoke about the AURA Region’s goal to be a European reference when it comes to cyclotourism, “with the creation of more than 400 km greenways in the years to come”.

In the early moments of this stage, it was also decided to put two bikes inside the following truck : that of US participant Ryan Gillespie and that of Louis Rannou from the SMILE Team, leaving his teammate David behind. Those solar bikes were sadly not in sufficiently good state to function reliably. In order to give them a chance to pursue the adventure with all the others, we transferred them to Lans-en-Vercors so that they have plenty of time and support to fix their vehicles properly. Louis found help to repair his bike, while Ryan got offered a “brand new”solar bike as a collaboration between the Sun Trip Team and the Vécolo association. This bike was assembled in a few hours from an ebike, the trailer lent by Velocité in Clermont-Ferrand and old skis as solar panels support !

En route, participants climbed on a plateau linking the Haute-Loire with Ardèche where they discovered rural landscapes and pittoresque villages. However, the rain, the storm, and even the hail made it much harder for participants to enjoy. Peter and An had to seek refuge under a school bus stop shed.

A few dozen kilometer further,the descent into the Rhone River Valley put an end to the last days’ bad weather, although there were still a few showers the morning after. The  Sun Trip Tour 2017 definitely had rainy beginnings.

In the morning, the bad weather ended up drowning Daniele Gonano‘s poor battery. Thankfully, our Technical Director Guillaume Devot managed to lend him another one and our Italian participant hopped back on the saddle, although he won’t have a chance on the 100 % Solar Energy challenges.

The Massif du Vercors was mainly climbed through th Bourne River Valley, but a group of five courageous cyclists aimed further South on the Col de Rousset, climbing 20 km in gorgeous laces ove the town of Die ! Still riding 100% with solar energy, Michel and Louis’ batteries were almost empty and decided to ride 40 km without assistance in order to spare enough energy to climb. But this detour and the tricky weather made them arrive in Lans past the cut-off time for the Super Suntripper Challenge. Despite riding 236 km, they were penalized on this stage. Béatrice, Yannick et Isabelino were no longer 100 % in solar energy, but they went that way for the pleasure of riding. Two years after taking part in the Milan-Antalya-Milan Edition in Turkey, Béatrice and Yannick are now cycling with two friends sharing a third bike designed by Yannick “MacGyver” Aspe.

Towards the end of the stage, all the cyclists reached the Gorges de la Bourne, a spectacular road literally carved in stone! For many participants, this Vercors road was a novelty. Here again, the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Region offered a fabulous landscape.

Actually, Jean-Louis Machado, or Jean-Louis Abrasracourcix as he nicknames himself since he has a disability, rode on that road with delight. Originally from Southern France, he tells journalist Jean-Christophe Solari about the pleasure he had there in this video produced by France 3 Alpes in the context of our media partnership.


At the finish line in Lans-en-Vercors where the sun was finally back, participants seemed relaxed. Some used all their electricity in order to get there, others still had power left for the alpine mountains ahead. In total, twelve teams managed to make it to Lans before the challenges cut-off time charging only with the solar energy. Despite the rain on the first three days, they are riding with the sun!


Stage 3 – Puy-en-Velay to Lans-en-Vercors

Leaving Lans-en-Vercors, the sun finally showed through the clouds once and for all. American participant Ryan Gillespie was thrilled to get back on the road along his peers, riding on his new solar bike made in Grenoble. One group chose the direction of the Combe de Savoie towards Albertville and the Beaufort Massif.


Others chose to climb the Croix de Fer Pass until the Maurienne Valley, followed by the Col de L’Iseran, highest paved pass of Europe with 2770 meters.

France 3:

The Briton duo Michel and Louis rode 271 km on this leg, going first through the Iseran on the evening July 13. In order not to rest too much, they decided to get at least to te-Foy en Tarentaise the following morning, accumulating over 6000 meters elevation on this stage.

Most of the other participants rested one night in Bessans or Termignon and kept their forces and their Watts for the next day. For many, it was a first experience in high mountain ranges but they all managed to cross the pass without any issues, although some did push their machine when their technical choices were not perfectly adapted to slope, and others had to take several breaks to rest both the engine and the rider.

The Iseran mountain landscapes left a strong impression on their minds, to the extend that some of those arriving from the other side decided to climb the pass anyways, just for the kicks…

At the Salon du véhicule électrique et hybride in Val d’Isère, we had an opportunity to explain our philosophy and introduce our solar bike rally to a curious and enthusiastic crowd. The solar bikes paraded until their stand on the convention led by Arno Liégeon, former 2015 Milan-Antalya-Milan Sun Trip, riding a cargo bike blasting music. He was not the only Sun Trip Pioneer present : champion Bernard Cauquil and dean Adalberto Cravero surprised the participants by joining us. Many Sun Trip fans expressed a desire to take part in the 2018 Lyon-Canton Sun Trip Edition and were studying scrupulously the machines exhibited, questioning our crew on technical issues. It was the only resting day on this edition and we all took this opportunity to recharge our batteries !


Stage 4 – Val d’Isère to Lausanne via the Little and the Great Saint-Bernhard Passes

As programmed with the Val d’Isère Hybrid and Electric Vehicle Show the Sun Trip Tour departed from the resort center simultaneously with the ebike climb of the Col de l’Iseran. It was an opportunity to say goodbye to our friends, fans and the former participants who had joined us on this stage.

The climb of the Little Saint-Bernard was fiercely undertaken by Mickaël Joguet who wanted to test the limits of his machine. Arrivals at the top of the pass followed one another at a constant pace on this historic site for the Sun Trip 2013 – France-Kazakhstan. The pioneer cohort had shard there one last meal before the actual departure for the Solar Challenge rewarding overall speed.

Unlike on the first Great Sun Trip, participants were now expected to have sufficient energy to climb the Great St. Bernard Pass between Italy and Switzerland on the same day. But our cyclists were already enjoying the mountains and enjoyed themselves even more in those grandiose alpine landscapes. All but two could reach the Casa Don Angelo near the top of the pass, an optional stopover for the night. And then, surprise! Adalberto, dean of the 2015 Edition, joined us again for an emotional accolade before returning home in Santhià, 40 kilometers further down in the Po river plain.

The last ones arrived at 8:55 PM, five minutes before the cut-off time. Sushil Reddy and David from the Smile Team were all smiles at their own feat. Slower and more cautious riders, Claude Lagriffoul and the Vecolo Team waited until the next day to go across the mountains.

In the foggy morning, the pack rode together the last few kilometers to the top of the pass. On the way down, the group dispersed over the 45 kilometer ride until the Lake Geneva plain despite a a strong head wind. The challenging parts of this Sun Trip regional Tour were then behind.

On the Place des fêtes in Lutry and in collaboration with the waterfront city, members of the Pro Vélo association joined us for the arrival parade on a diverse set of cycles – including cargo bikes, recumbent trikes and an astonishing rowing recumbent bike.

On the place de la Riponne in Lausanne, the pack was welcomed on an event coordinated by the Services industriels de Lausanne in the presence of Jean-Yves Pidoux, Director of the Services industriels de Lausanne, Laurent Balsiger, Director of Energy on Canton de Vaud and Florian Bailly, Directeur of the Sun Trip. Aso noteworty was the presence of the Tandem Lausanne shop and the SSES-RSO association. Thank you all to have made this event a great success!


Stage 5 – Lausanne to Trévoux

After Lausanne, another great European city awaited the Sun Trip Tour. The final stage took participants through the Jura, the Ain, the Dombes and Trévoux before heading to Lyon.

There was no collective departure in Lausanne and each participant could leave whenever they wanted. We did share a collective breakfast were tiredness was palpable. Crossing the Alps wasn’t that easy after all!

True to their style, Michel and Louis were among the first to leave and chose the most astonishing route on this leg by quickly crossing the Swiss Jura and aiming for Dijon and Beaune! The following morning, they only needed to set sail due South through the vineyards. They rode over 400 km on this stage, earning the Super Suntripper badge.

Other participants split between two groups, some heading for the Jura and the Ain mountain ranges, and others circumventing any potential hardships and riding a few km on the Via Rhona.

They were all confronted to a strong headwind and at the same time, they foudn landscapes tailored for long distance cycling. With the great Alpine passes, they were discovering the plains.

In Trévoux on the shores of the Saone river, they gathered one last time together. The pack was warmly welcomed by the mayor, M. Marc Péchoux as a strong symbol for this city striving to develop its cycling paths and culture.

In the evening, the whole team was present at the campsite for one last briefing that doubled as a happy hour. Their smiles were even wider than usual on that closing evening together.


Stage 6 – Arrival Downtown Lyon

Friday July 21st at 8:30 AM, the pack of 33 cycles headed towards Lyon following the Saone river towpath. A few kilometers down the road, they paused at the Maison de l’éclusière (Locks Guardian House) where they met with elected officials and shared a typical French breakfast – café-croissant – in a congenial moment.

There were no more challenges, but they were free to choose their own way towards Lyon. Some opted for one last detour, heading to the Monts d’Or in order to enjoy a panoramic viewpoint over the area! The meeting point was the Masaryk pedestrian and cycling bridge. From there, the Lyon police escorted the pack all the way to the heart of the city, through the Croix Rousse cycling tunnel !

On the roadside, the riverbank quays welcomed the Sun Trip Tour 2017 arrival!

The official ceremony took place under a bright sun in the presence of elected officials from Lyon City, Lyon Greater Area and the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Region.

The winners of the various challenges were awarded trophies under the eyes of their peers. Belgium KU Leuven Team Bram and Jonathan earned the Photo Challenge, Charlotte Gille won the Eco Drive, Jean-Louis Machado was recognized the Super Combatif (a perseverance, Coup de Coeur prize), and Michel Bertet and Louis Parienté earned the Super Suntripper trophy.

The photo that made Bram et Jonathan win the photo contest:

The End – With France info :

The Sun Trip 2013

The First One, From France to Kazakhstan!

Relive It!
The Sun Trip 2018

The largest Sun Trip adventure: 12,000 km from Lyon to Canton

Relive It!
Corsica Sun Trip 2020

Test solar biking around Corsica in October!

Join Us
Copyright - 2020
The Sun Trip utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage).

• 39 suntrippers
  • 1 300 kilomètres parcourus
  • 3 pays découverts
Sun Trip Tour 2017 Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes 1ère
  1. Charlotte Gille Le challenge Eco Drive
  2. Louis & Michel Les super SunTripper
  3. Jean-Louis Machado Le super combatif

Le Sun Trip régional

15 jours d'aventure solaire accessible

Pour la première fois le Sun Trip n'est plus seulement synonyme de voyage dans de lointaines contrées.

Résumé

l’étape 1 du Sun Trip Tour 2017 – Clermont-Ferrand au Puy-en-Velay

Le départ du centre-ville de Clermont-Ferrand jusqu’au Plateau de Gergovie s’est bien déroulé, avec une seule panne technique à constater pour l’équipe belge de l’Université de Leuven “KU Leuven Team”. Aidés par l’organisation, Bram et Jonathan ont pu rapidement réparer leur bras de réaction, reprendre la route et atteindre le Puy-en-Velay le lendemain, toujours dans l’aventure.

Vidéo de notre partenaire média France 3 : 

Dès la première journée, la solidarité entre les participants était aussi au rendez-vous. Des petits groupes se sont formés pour mieux s’orienter et s’entraider. On saluera l’action de l’équipe Béatrice, Yannick et Zab, revenus sur leurs pas au niveau du col de la Croix des Gardes pour venir en aide à Jean-Louis Machado, Suntripper porteur d’un handicap et déjà victime d’une crevaison.

A l’avant du groupe, c’est Stéphane Bertrand qui a rejoint en premier la magnifique ville du Puy-en-Velay, mais cette année, la vitesse n’est pas récompensée par aucun challenge. C’est le duo Michel Bertet et Louis Parienté qui remporte aujourd’hui le challenge du Super Suntripper. Sur cette épreuve visant à encourager une grande diversité de parcours et de paysages dans la région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, ils auront été les seuls à tirer à l’ouest en quittant Clermont-Ferrand et affichent une distance totale parcourue de 171 km à l’arrivée.

Si à la fin d’étape dimanche le niveau des batteries était faible et l’épuisement palpable, l’orage et les averses violentes ayant retardé certains des participants, 17 équipages parvenaient à rejoindre l’arrivée avant 17h, heure limite pour prétendre concourir aux challenges de cette première étape.

Dans la soirée, deux équipes (Ryan Gillespie et Christian Noiret) ont bénéficié du secours du camion d’assistance pour pallier à des gros soucis techniques, alors que le Team Smile et l’Indien Sushil Reddy rejoignaient le reste de la troupe à 20h52, à la pédale et à bout de force, mais désormais sous une pluie d’applaudissements de la part de leurs collègues.


L’étape 2 du Sun Trip Tour 2017 – Puy-en-Velay – Lans-en-Vercors

La deuxième étape du Sun Trip Tour 2017 a été marquée par la présence au départ du Puy en Velay du Maire de la ville mais aussi du Président de la Région AURA, Laurent Wauquiez. Ce dernier n’a pas manqué de soutenir la démarche du Sun Trip, une démarche “d’innovation, de technologie et d’environnement”. Laurent Wauquiez évoquait aussi l’objectif fixé de faire de la Région AURA une référence européenne en terme d’infrastructures pour l’itinérance à vélo, “avec la création de quelques 400 km de voie verte dans les années à venir”.

Le début de cette étape était par ailleurs marqué par la décision d’embarquer dans le camion d’organisation les vélos de l’Américain Ryan Gillespie ainsi que celui de Louis Rannou de l’équipe SMILE, laissant son coéquipier David partir seul sur la route.

Les participants en route sont montés sur le plateau reliant la Haute-Loire à l’Ardèche où ils ont trouvé des paysages champêtres verdoyants et des villages pittoresques.. Néanmoins, la pluie, l’orage et même la grêle allait venir gâcher la fête, obligeant certains participants comme An et Peter, à se réfugier dans des abribus hivernaux du ramassage scolaire.

La montée du Vercors a été attaquée principalement par la vallée de la Bourne mais un groupe de cinq courageux avaient visé plus au sud via le col de Rousset, 20 km d’ascension en lacets au-dessus de Die ! Toujours en 100% solaire, Michel et Louis étaient bien à sec et se sont résignés à rouler 40 km sans assistance pour économiser l’énergie nécessaire à la montée. Le détour et la météo capricieuse, leur coûtera toutefois d’arriver au-delà du délai fixé pour le challenge du Super Suntripper. Malgrè 236 km au compteur, ils étaient donc pénalisés pour cette étape. L’équipe de Béatrice, Yannick et Isabelino n’évoluait elle déjà plus en 100% solaire, mais le plaisir de la grimpe a pris le dessus. Deux ans après leur participation à l’édition Sun Trip Milan-Antalya-Milan vers la Turquie, Béatrice et Yannick sont maintenant accompagnés par deux amis qui se relaient au guidon d’un troisième vélo toujours construit par Yannick “MacGyver” Aspe.

Tout le monde rejoignait la fin de la montée les Gorges de la Bourne, une route spectaculaire littéralement creusée dans la roche ! Pour de nombreux participants, cette route pour le Vercors était inédite. Ici encore, la région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes nous a offert un décor fabuleux.

D’ailleurs, Jean-Louis Machado, se surnommant lui-même Jean-Louis Abrasracourcix car porteur de handicap y a roulé avec délice. Originaire du sud de la France, il raconte ici son bonheur de rouler au journaliste Jean-Christophe Solari, une vidéo réalisée dans le cadre de notre partenariat médiatique avec France 3 Alpes.

A l’arrivée à Lans-en-Vercors où le soleil faisait son retour, l’ambiance était globalement détendue. Certains ont du vider leurs batteries pour arriver jusque là, mais d’autres avaient encore de la marge en vue des grandes étapes alpines. En tout, douze équipes sont arrivées à Lans-en-Vercors dans les délais imposés par les challenges et en ayant toujours rechargé grâce à l’énergie solaire. Malgré la pluie présente sur chacun des trois jours roulés, le vélo solaire ça marche !


l’étape 3 du Sun Trip Tour 2017 – Puy-en-Velay – Lans-en-Vercors

Au départ de Lans-en-Vercors, le soleil pointait enfin son nez pour y rester. L’Américain Ryan Gillespie était bien content de reprendre la route avec ses pairs, juché sur son nouveau vélo made in Grenoble. Un premier groupe a pris la direction de la Combe de Savoie vers Albertville et le Beaufortain.

D’autres, comme l’équipe France 3, ont choisi d’attaquer la montée du col de la Croix de Fer jusqu’à la vallée de la Maurienne, suivi du col de l’Iseran, plus haut col routier d’Europe culminant à 2770 mètres.

Vidéo de France 3 :

Le duo Breton Michel et Louis ont parcouru sur cette étape 271 km, passant en premier le col de l’Iseran le soir du 13 juillet. Histoire de ne pas s’encrasser, ils ont tenu à se rendre jusqu’à Sainte-Foy le lendemain, refaisant au passage quelques centaines de mètres de dénivelé positif, totalisant donc sur cette étape plus de 6000 mètres de montée.

Les autres ont pour la plupart fait escale à Bessans ou à Termignon afin de se garder des forces et des Watts pour le lendemain. Il s’agissait d’une première expérience de haute montagne pour nombre de participants, mais ils sont passés sans encombre, parfois en poussant, lorsque les choix techniques de leurs vélos n’étaient pas parfaitement adaptés à la forte pente, parfois en faisant des pauses pour ménager le cavalier et sa monture.

Les paysages de l’Iseran ont marqué les esprits à un point tel que plusieurs de ceux qui sont arrivés par l’autre côté ont choisi d’en faire l’ascension par le versant avalin.

Au Salon du véhicule électrique et hybride de Val d’Isère, nous avons pu expliquer notre démarche auprès d’un public curieux et enthousiaste. L’entrée en grande pompe sur le salon fut ouverte en musique par Arno Liégeon, ancien participant de l’édition 2015 vers la Turquie. Ce n’était pas le seul ancien présent puisque le champion Bernard Cauquil et le doyen Adalberto Cravero nous ont fait grâce de leur présence, à notre grand plaisir. Plusieurs fans du Sun Trip ont exprimé leur désir de prendre part à l’édition 2018 Lyon-Canton et étudiaient scrupuleusement les machines présentes tout en questionnant les participants du Sun Trip Tour sur leur expérience. Il s’agissait de l’unique journée de pause sur cette édition et tout le monde en a bien profité pour recharger tant les batteries que les muscles!


L’étape 4 – Val d’Isère à Lausanne par le Petit et le Grand Saint-Bernard

Toujours dans le cadre du Salon du véhicule hybride et électrique de Val d’Isère, le Sun Trip Tour a pris un départ du centre-ville en simultané de la montée en VAE de l’Iseran. Ce fut donc l’occasion de dire au-revoir à nos amis, fans et anciens participants qui nous avaient rejoint sur cette étape.

La montée du Petit Saint-Bernard fut attaquée avec férocité par Mickaël Joguet qui souhaitait pousser sa machine aux limites de la performance. Les arrivées sur le col se sont succédées à rythme constant sur ce lieu historique du Sun Trip 2013 – France-Kazakhstan. En effet, la première cohorte pionnière avait pris un dernier repas en commun sur le col avant le départ réel des concurrents au Challenge solaire.

Contrairement à cette première édition, les participants devaient maintenant prévoir suffisamment d’énergie pour l’ascension le même jour du col du Grand Saint-Bernard séparant l’Italie de la Suisse. Dans des paysages grandioses, les cyclistes déjà rodés à la montagne se sont fait plaisir et presque tous ont pu atteindre le gîte Casa Don Angelo, lieu d’escale facultative pour la nuit. Et là-haut, surprise ! Adalberto, doyen de la cuvée 2015 nous a rejoint une fois de plus pour une courte accolade riche en émotions avant de rentrer chez lui vers Santhià, 40 kilomètres plus bas dans la plaine du Po.

Les derniers arrivés en haut ont posé le pied par terre à 8h55, soit cinq minutes avant l’heure limite autorisée. Sushil Reddy et David de l’équipe Smile étaient tout sourire face à leur exploit. Plus lents et prudents, Claude Lagriffoul et l’équipe Vécolo ont attendu au lendemain pour franchir la barre montagneuse.

Au petit matin et dans la brume, le peloton a parcouru ensemble les derniers kilomètres de la montée. Sur les 45 kilomètres de la descente, le groupe s’est fractionné avant d’atteindre la plaine entourant le lac Léman malgré un fort vent de face. Les grandes difficultés du trajet proposé sont maintenant derrière.

A la place des fêtes de Lutry et en collaboration avec la ville riveraine, les membres de l’association Pro Vélo nous ont retrouvé pour le cortège d’arrivée sur Lausanne sur des cycles parfois étonnants – notamment des vélos cargos, des tricycles couchés et un vélo couché rameur.

Sur la place de la Riponne, le peloton a été accueilli sur un événement organisé par les Services industriels de Lausanne en présence de Jean-Yves Pidoux, directeur des Services industriels de Lausanne, de Laurent Balsiger, directeur de l’énergie du Canton de Vaud et du Florian Bailly, directeur du Sun Trip. Notons aussi la présence sur la place du magasin Tandem Lausanne et de l’association SSES-RSO. Merci à tous d’avoir fait le succès de cet événement !


L’étape 5 – de Lausanne à Trévoux

A priori étape de transition après les grands cols, mais les distances étaient grandes et pour quitter la Suisse le passage par les Monts du Jura promettait encore quelques belles surprises, en terme de difficulté et de paysages !

Nombre des participants auront été conquis par cette étape et la découverte du département de l’Ain.

Vidéo France 3 :

Fidèles à leurs habitudes, Michel et Louis partaient parmi les premiers et faisaient le choix de route le plus étonnant de cette étape en tirant directement vers le Jura Suisse, puis en visant la zone de Dijon et Beaune. Le lendemain, il ne leur restait plus qu’à mettre la boussole plein sud à travers les vignes pour finalement réaliser plus de 400 km sur l’étape et remporter le challenge Super Suntripper.

Au bord de la Saône, l’escale de Trévoux fut le dernier moment de rassemblement pour l’ensemble des participants. Le peloton a d’abord été chaleureusement accueilli par la ville en présence de Monsieur le Maire Marc Péchoux. Un beau symbole que d’accueillir nos vélos solaires pour une commune qui veut développer ses atouts cyclables !

Toute l’équipe s’est réunie le soir au camping pour un dernier briefing officiel mais surtout pour un moment de joie collective. Les sourires étaient encore un peu plus grands que d’habitude pour cette soirée de fin de parcours.


L’étape 6 – L’arrivée dans le centre de Lyon

Vendredi 21 juillet à 8h30, les 33 vélos demeurés en course ont pris la direction de Lyon en suivant le chemin de halage le long de la Saône. Quelques kilomètres plus loin, une petite halte à la Maison de l’éclusière a permis une nouvelle rencontre avec des élus locaux autour d’un café-croissant, dans une ambiance décontractée où tout le monde a pu en profiter.

Pas de challenge pour cette étape finale ! Cependant, les participants avaient la liberté de choisir leur accès à Lyon. Ainsi certains ont fait un petit détour par les Monts d’Or afin de s’offrir une vue aérienne sur la capitale de la région ! Tous se retrouvaient enfin sur la passerelle Masaryk, réservée aux vélos et aux piétons. C’est de là que la police municipale allait escorter le peloton jusqu’au cœur de Lyon, en prenant le tunnel vélo de la Croix Rousse !

Au bout de la route, les quais aménagés du Rhône furent tout un symbole pour l’arrivée du Sun Trip Tour 2017 !

Le temps protocolaire s’est déroulé sous un grand soleil, en présence d’élus de la ville de Lyon, du Grand Lyon et de la Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes.

C’était notamment l’occasion de saluer les vainqueurs des classements généraux des différents challenges : les jeunes belges Bram et Jonathan pour le concours photo, Charlotte Gille pour l’Eco Drive, Jean-Louis Machado pour le Super Combatif et Michel Bertet et Louis Parienté pour le challenge du Super Suntripper.

La photo gagnante, par Bram et Jonathan :

La fin avec France info :

The Sun Trip 2013

La toute première fois, de la France au Kazakhstan!

A revivre !
The Sun Trip 2018

La plus grande aventure de l'histoire du Sun Trip, 12.000 km de Lyon à Canton

A revivre !
Corsica Sun Trip 2020

Tester le vélo solaire autour de la Corse en octobre !

Rejoignez-nous
Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre notre actualité.
The Sun Trip utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage).