Sun Trip , Sun Trip: the world on solar bikes!
Organization News

ST24 Statements

07.05.2024 - The Sun Trip
The Sun Trip The Sun Trip

Click here for all the latest officials news and statements about The Sun Trip 2024.


May 8 : Rchard Defay retirement

We have to announce the retirement of Richard Defay this morning at Boulmane Dades in Morocco. The Frenchman fell victim to a food-borne infection. He has been suffering for several days since Taroudant. He is now unable to continue the adventure. The medical situation seems to be under control. Richard is serene and is currently organising his repatriation. Congratulations to him for his fine journey on the Sun Trip 2024 and for his perfect state of mind. We’ll be bringing


April 26 : jury statement after the leaders crash in Taroudant

The Sun Trip Jury was asked to give its verdict following the collision between Jean-Marc Dubouloz and Jack Butler on the outskirts of Taroudant on Wednesday April 24.

The facts as reported to us are quite simple: Jean-Marc Dubouloz was leading and had to stop because of a problem with his wheel. He had to stop on the right-hand side of the road, in the lane naturally used by bicycles.

Unfortunately, Jack Butler was distracted by the traffic behind him and didn’t see Jean-Marc’s bike stopped in his path.

Fortunately, neither was injured in the accident.

But the collision did cause technical damage to Jean-Marc’s solar panels. However, it is difficult to assess the exact damage caused by the collision to panels already weakened by Jean-Marc’s fall in Spain, according to his own statement.

On Jack’s side, the damage was largely dealt with by returning to town for repairs.

In response to Jean-Marc Dubouloz’s appeal, the jury found that :

– the unintentional nature of this incident is neither debatable nor discussed.

– the incident is the result of an incredible combination of circumstances, regretted by all, while respecting the honor of each individual.

– Jack Butler does not deserve a sporting sanction.

– but Jean-Marc Dubouloz is offered the possibility of repairing his solar panel, with Jack Butler immobilized for the duration of the repairs.

– Jean-Marc will have to tell Jack 24 hours in advance when the break will take place, depending on where the replacement solar panel has been sent. The maximum repair time is 24 hours. Any repairs must be made before the Molina de Aragon checkpoint in Spain. Further details on the application of this special rule will be given directly to participants.

– it is up to the participants to discuss any questions of civil liability concerning damage caused.

Finally, the jury wishes to express its full confidence in the human values shared by the two competitors, and is pleased that there was no animosity between them in the handling of this race event.


April 19 : Jean-Marc Dubouloz crashed

The Frenchman called the organization at around 12:30 on Friday to report a crash in southern Spain, shortly after the town of Jerez. The strong westerly wind is believed to be the cause of the crash. No injuries, but some technical damage. For the moment, Jean-Marc Dubouloz remains in the race. More information coming soon.


April 12 2024 : Lucaci Arnold Vasile out of the race.

18 adventurers finally set off on Friday April 12.

The adventure jury decided to disqualify Romanian Lucaci Arnold Vasile. Despite his best efforts to reach the start (by starting from Denmark, where he lives), Lucaci Arnold Vasile was unable to reach Lyon within the required deadline, as participants had to be present 2 days before the start. Unprecedented in the history of the Sun Trip, Lucaci Arnold Vasile even arrived 4 hours after the official start of the adventure. Considering that it would be too difficult for him to keep up with the pace of this great edition, the adventure jury decided to put him out of the race. His beacon will remain in Lyon. But to encourage him in his efforts, he was offered the chance to continue on the Sun Trip route, wearing the official jersey, with the idea of continuing to promote his journey in the event’s communications. Good luck to this valiant adventurer.


April 7 2024 : checkpoint #1 validated

Checkpoint #1 of the Sun Trip 2024 remains validated after our team’s visit and in view of the weather forecast for the next few days. The Pierre Saint Martin pass culminates at 1765 meters above sea level in the Pyrenees, between France and Spain. The ascent is over 25km long, with very steep gradients in the central part, peaking at 16% on a short section. In the event of snowfall during the adventure, an alternative route will be proposed.


April 6, 2024: driving hours

Considering the early spring start and the few time zone changes to be expected on the 2024 route, here are the rules concerning the mandatory night break. This break is part of the DNA of the project, because unlike other cycling adventures, we believe that the safety of our participants must come first. We sleep at night!


April 5, 2024: the 2024 jury

These are the 9 people who will make up the jury for The Sun Trip 2024. They come from France, Belgium, Morcco and Switzerland. They have all been participants and/or volunteers in the organization over the last 10 years. They will each have one vote when it comes to ruling on a disputed situation, in application of the adventure and technical regulations. A decision must be taken with a total of 5 concurring votes.

We’d also like to acknowledge the commitment of Christophe Bayard and Silvia Plozner, who  will be absent due to a long journey far away, and thank Béatrice Cazanave for her help. We also salute Yann Cauquil, in charge of designing the live map, as well as Nicolas Guzzo, Léo Vidal, Anick-Marie Bouchard and Pierre Mauduit, who work behind the scenes throughout the year. It’s thanks to them that the project is back again this year!


April 4, 2024: Raf Van Hulle declares himself a non-starter!

We are sorry to announce that Raf Van Hulle, two-time winner of The Sun Trip, will not be at the start of the 2024 edition.
His statement: “I’am sorry that cannot participate due to technical problems with the bike. I have never been so well prepared, new solar panels, new inverters, new 30AH batery. Everything was perfectly adjusted. But loose magnets were discovered during the engine change and that no other engine with thru axle is available. My pedal sensor also doesn’t work. I’m ashamed that we can’t solve this. I’m waiting for repairs and then I’ll come south”.

March 20, 2024: invitation to the official departure

April 12 will see the grand start of the 5th edition of The Sun Trip, for the first time from the headquarters of the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Region. We’re inviting our partners and followers to take part in this major event, which will combine the promotion of solar mobility with the enhancement of international cooperation. Registration required on: forms.gle/5LDRtJ7eEDSJPR4j6

Did you like it? Share the Sun Trip experience

Last comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter to get updates
Copyright - 2024
The Sun Trip utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage).

Sun trip , le monde à vélo solaire !
Blog de l’organisation

Les communiqués du ST24

07.05.2024 - The Sun Trip
The Sun Trip The Sun Trip

Retrouvez ici les principales informations et communiqués concernant The Sun Trip 2024.


8 mai : abandon de Richard Defay

Nous devons vous annoncer l’abandon de Richard Defay, ce matin à Boulmane Dades au Maroc. Le français est victime d’une infection alimentaire. Il a traîné cela sur plusieurs jours depuis Taroudant. Il n’est aujourd’hui plus en mesure de poursuivre l’aventure. La situation médicale semble sous contrôle. Richard se dit serein et organise actuellement son rappattriement. Un grand bravo à lui pour son beau parcours sur les routes du Sun Trip 2024, ainsi que pour son parfait état d’esprit. On vous donnera prochainement des nouvelles de lui.


26 avril : décision du jury suite à la collision entre Jean-Marc Dubouloz et Jack Butler

Le Jury du Sun Trip a été amené à se prononcer suite à la collision qui a eu lieu ce mercredi 24 avril, entre Jean-Marc Dubouloz et Jack Butler, à la sortie de Taroudant.

Les faits qui nous sont rapportés sont assez simples : Jean-Marc Dubouloz menait et a dû s’arrêter à cause d’un problème au niveau de sa roue. Il a du s’arrêter sur la droite de la chaussée, sur la voie naturellement utilisée pour les vélos.

Malheureusement derrière Jack Butler a été distrait par la circulation et il n’a pas aperçu le vélo de Jean-Marc arrêté sur son chemin.

Heureusement aucun des deux n’a été blessé dans l’accident.

Mais la collision a entraîné des dégâts techniques sur le les panneaux solaires de Jean-Marc. Il est toutefois difficile d’évaluer les dégâts exacts créés par cette collision sur des panneaux déjà affaiblis par la chute de Jean-Marc en Espagne, selon ses propres dires.

Du côté de Jack, les dégâts ont pu être globalement réglés en revenant en ville pour les réparations.

Pour répondre à la saisinne de Jean-Marc Dubouloz, le jury dit que :

– le caractère involontaire de cet incident n’est pas discutable, ni discuté.

– l’incident relève d’un incroyable concours de circonstances, regretté par tous, dans le respect de l’honneur de chacun.

Jack Butler ne mérite pas une sanction sportive.

mais il est offert à Jean-Marc Dubouloz la possibilité de réparer son panneau solaire, avec immobilisation de Jack Butler le temps des réparations. 

– Jean-Marc devra annoncer avec 24 heures d’avance à Jack le moment de la pause, en fonction du lieu où aura pu être envoyé le panneau solaire de rechange. Le temps de réparation maximum est de 24 heures. Cette éventuelle réparation doit intervenir avant le Checkpoint de Molina de Aragon en Espagne. Plus de détails sur l’application de cette règle spéciale seront donnés directement aux participants.

– il appartient aux participants de discuter d’éventuelles questions de responsabilité civile concernant les dommages causés.

Enfin le jury souhaite indiquer qu’il a toute confiance dans les valeurs humaines partagées par les deux concurrents et se félicite qu’il n’y ait pas d’animosité entre eux dans la gestion de ce fait de course.


19 avril : chute du leader Jean-Marc Dubouloz

Le français a appelé l’organisation vers 12h30 ce vendredi pour informer d’une chute intervenue dans le sud de l’Espagne, peu après la localité de Xérès. Le vent violent qui souffle de l’Ouest serait à l’origine de la chute. Pas de blessures mais des dégâts techniques. Pour le moment Jean-Marc Dubouloz reste dans la course. Plus d’information prochainement.


12 avril : Lucaci Arnold Vasile mis hors course.

18 aventuriers ont finalement pris la route ce vendredi 12 avril.

Le jury de l’aventure à décidé de mettre hors course le roumain Lucaci Arnold Vasile. Malgré de grands efforts pour rejoindre le départ (en partant depuis le Danemark, où il réside), Lucaci Arnold Vasile n’a pas pu rejoindre Lyon dans le délais demandé, les participants devant être présents 2 jours avant le départ. Fait inédit dans l’histoire du Sun Trip, Lucaci Arnold Vasile est même arrivé 4 heures après le départ officiel de l’aventure. Considérant qu’il lui serait trop difficile de tenir le rythme de cette grande édition, le jury de l’aventure a donc décidé d’une mise hors course. Sa balise restera donc bloquée à Lyon. Mais pour l’encourager dans ces efforts il lui a été proposé de poursuivre son chemin sur la route du Sun Trip, en portant le maillot officiel, avec l’idée de continuer à valoriser son voyage dans la communication de l’événement. Bonne route à ce valeureux aventurier.


7 avril 2024 : validation du checkpoint #1

Le checkpoint #1 du Sun Trip 2024 reste validé après la visite de notre équipe et au regard des prévisions météo des prochains jours. Le col de la Pierre Saint Martin culmine à 1765 mètres d’altitude dans les Pyrénées, entre la France et l’Espagne. L’ascension, longue de plus de 25km, propose des pourcentages très raides dans sa partie centrale, avec une pointe à 16% sur une portion courte. En cas de chute de neige pendant l’aventure, un itinéraire bis sera proposé.


6 avril 2024 : les heures de roulage

Au regard d’un départ prévu tôt dans le printemps et quelques changements de fuseaux horaires à prévoir sur le parcours 2024, voilà les règles concernant la pause nocturne obligatoire. Cette pause fait partie de l’ADN du projet, car à la différence d’autres aventures à vélo nous estimons que la sécurité de nos participants doit primer. La nuit on dort !

 


5 avril 2024 : le jury 2024

Voilà les 9 personnes qui composeront le jury de l’aventure The Sun Trip 2024. Ils viennent de 4 pays différents et ont tous été participants et/ou bénévoles dans l’organisation lors des 10 dernières années. Ils auront une voix chacun quand il s’agira de statuer sur une situation litigieuse, en application de l’avis d’aventure et règlement technique. Une décision devra être prise avec un total de 5 voix concordantes.

Nous tenons également à saluer l’engagement de Christophe Bayard et Silvia Plozner, absents pour cause de long voyage, merci à Béatrice Cazanave pour son aide. Nous saluons également les anciens SunTripper Yann Cauquil, en charge de la conception de la carte live, ainsi que Nicolas Guzzo, Léo Vidal, Anick-Marie Bouchard et Pierre Mauduit qui oeuvrent dans l’ombre tout au long de l’année. C’est grâce à eux que le projet est reconduit cette année !


4 avril 2024 : Raf Van Hulle se déclare non-partant ! 

Nous sommes au regret d’annoncer que Raf Van Hulle, double vainqueur du Sun Trip, ne sera pas au départ de l’édition 2024.
Sa réaction :
« Je suis désolé de ne pas pouvoir participer à cause de problèmes techniques avec le vélo. Je n’ai jamais été aussi bien préparé : nouveaux panneaux solaires, nouveaux onduleurs, nouvelle batterie de 30Ah… Tout était parfaitement réglé. Mais des aimants desserrés ont été découverts lors du changement de moteur et il n’y a pas d’autre moteur avec axe traversant disponible. Mon capteur de pédale ne fonctionne pas non plus. J’ai honte de ne pas pouvoir résoudre ce problème. J’attends les réparations et je viendrai dans le sud ».

20 mars 2024 : invitation pour le départ officiel

Le 12 avril sera donné le grand départ de la 5ème édition de The Sun Trip, pour la première fois depuis le siège de la Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. Au départ de Lyon, l’aventure consiste en une boucle inédite de 7000 km jusqu’aux premières dunes du Sahara au Maroc, avec une arrivée prévue à Chambéry en Savoie (en moins d’un mois probablement pour les plus rapides !). Nous proposons à nos partenaires et suiveurs de participer à ce temps fort, qui mêlera promotion de la mobilité solaire et valorisation des coopérations internationales. Inscription obligatoire sur : forms.gle/5LDRtJ7eEDSJPR4j6
Ça vous a plu ? Partagez l'aventure du Sun Trip
Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre notre actualité.
Copyright - 2024
The Sun Trip utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage).