Sun Trip , Sun Trip: the world on solar bikes!
The Sun Trip The Solar Bike Adventure
Adventurers on solar bikes choosing their course through Eurasia. Inspired by unassisted yacht races around the world, the Sun Trip is writing a new page in the world of overland adventures.

The Sun Trip is a showcase for new forms of mobility. Each adventurer is an ambassador of solar energy and eco-mobility, proving their efficiency and their humanist dimension.
Follow us
Patrice  Plozner

Patrice Plozner

Age 53 years
Nationality French

The solar bike of Patrice

Front motors Crankset, 500w 48v
Back motor Direct drive, rh205c - 1000w 48v
Solar 4 x 100 Wc by set of 2
Weight 60 kilos
The base of the frame of my bike is a self-built trike with essentially square tubes and aluminum plates assembled with bolts. The direction of it is made with ball joints. The seat is also self-constructed in fiberglass molded to my back. It is driven by 2 motors. A 500w 48v bottom bracket motor and a direct drive rh205c 1000w 48v rear wheel. They can be used interchangeably. The two motors are connected to a set of 2 48v 11.6 Ah batteries in parallel. The solar collector part is made up of 4 100w solar panels coupled 2 to 2 with two 48v mppt booster regulators that charge the batteries. Consumption and load are monitored using power meters. All the panels can tilt manually. The whole makes 60kg.
Patrice Plozner

Patrice, the Soul of the Sun Trip!

Patrice arrived in the history of the Sun Trip in 2018. He was then noticed for his state of mind, his smile, his poems and for his decision to turn back along the way. While in Georgia he undertook a return home, always respecting the objective of solar recharging.

A return to better return!

On the Sun Trip Tour 2019, with an improved “home made” bike, he was awarded the jury prize and above all he was on a joint journey with his future adventure companion, Jean-Louis Machado. They will be a shocking duo of Lyon-Canton 2021!

Patrice also participated in the test edition of the Corsica Sun Trip 2019.

In images

On video

Interview during the Sun Trip 2018

With his friend Jean-Louis in 2019 :

His Vision of the Sun Trip

“I, who had never traveled apart for work, signed up for the 2018 Lyon-Canton Sun Trip by discovering their website. It was with a bike that I built from A to Z that I started in this crazy adventure. 9 months of preparation during which I met an extraordinary world that is the suntrip and this family of suntripers. Our bikes are passports that open borders but also open the hearts of people of all countries.

Even though the Canton goal was not achieved, it was an incredible journey , surpassing oneself and meeting others, it was more than achieved. Which made me register for STT 2019 by accompanying a friend: Jean Louis Machado with whom we hope to reach the Tibetan plateau and Guangzhou in 2021.

As I had never been to Corsica, I wanted to test it… great experience of crossing the Isle of Beauty in a small group.

In fact, traveling by solar bike means riding more than 100km per day without being exhausted, enjoying the scenery, no longer having the apprehension of climbing a pass and taking the time to meet people, It’s freedom without pollute”.

Copyright - 2020
The Sun Trip utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage).

Patrice  Plozner

Patrice Plozner

Âge 53 ans
Nationalité Française

Le vélo de Patrice

Moteurs avant Pédalier, 500w 48v
Moteur arrière Direct drive, rh205c - 1000w 48v
Solaire 4 x 100 Wc couplés par 2
Poids 60 kilos
La base du cadre de mon vélo est un trike autoconstruit avec essentiellement des tubes carrés et des plats en aluminium assemblés avec des boulons. La direction de celui-ci est faite avec des rotules. Le siège est aussi autoconstruit en fibres de verre moulé à mon dos. Il est entraîné par 2 moteurs. Un moteur pédalier de 500w 48v et un moteur direct drive à la roue arrière rh205c de 1000w en 48v. Ils peuvent être utilisés indifféremment. Les deux moteurs sont branchés sur un ensemble de 2 batteries 48v 11,6 Ah en parallèle. La partie capteur solaire est composée de 4 panneaux solaires de 100w couplés 2 à 2 à deux régulateurs booster mppt 48v qui permettent de charger les batteries. La consommation et la charge sont suivies à l’aide de wattmètres. L’ensemble des panneaux peuvent basculer manuellement. Le tout fait 60kg.
Patrice Plozner

Patrice l'âme du Sun Trip !

Patrice est arrivé dans l’histoire du Sun Trip en 2018. Il fut alors remarqué pour son état d’esprit, son sourire, ses poèmes et par sa décision de rebrousser chemin en cours de route. Alors qu’il était en Géorgie il entrepris un retour jusqu’à chez lui, en respectant toujours l’objectif de la recharge solaire.

Un retour pour mieux revenir !

Sur le Sun Trip Tour 2019, avec un vélo « home made » amélioré, il était gratifié du prix du jury et surtout il faisait route commune avec son futur compagnon d’aventure, Jean-Louis Machado. Ils seront un duo de choc du Lyon-Canton 2021 !

Patrice a aussi participé à l’édition test du Corsica Sun Trip 2019.

En quelques photos

En vidéos

Interview lors du Sun Trip 2018

Avec son pote Jean-Louis en 2019 :

Sa vision du Sun Trip

« Moi qui n’avais jamais voyagé à part pour le travail, je me suis inscrit au suntrip 2018 Lyon-Canton en découvrant leur site internet. C’est avec un vélo que j’ai construit de A à Z que je me suis lancé dans cette folle aventure. 9 mois de préparation durant laquelle j’ai rencontré un monde hors du commun qu’est le suntrip et cette famille de suntripeurs. Nos vélos sont des passeports qui ouvrent les frontières mais qui ouvrent aussi les cœurs des gens de tout pays.

Même si l’objectif Canton n’as pas été atteint celui d’un voyage incroyable d’un point de vu dépassement de soi et rencontre de l’autre, il a été plus qu’atteint. Ce qui a fait que je me suis inscrit au STT 2019 en accompagnant un ami : Jean Louis Machado avec lequel nous espérons atteindre le plateau tibétain et Guangzhou en 2021.

Comme je n’étais jamais allé en Corse, j’ai voulu tester le Corsica…  belle expérience de traverser l’île de Beauté en petit groupe.

En fait, voyager en vélo solaire, c’est rouler plus de 100km par jour sans être épuisé, profiter des paysages, ne plus avoir l’appréhension de monter un col et prendre le temps de faire des rencontres, C’est la liberté sans polluer ».

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre notre actualité.
The Sun Trip utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage).