Sun Trip , Sun Trip: the world on solar bikes!
The Sun Trip The Solar Bike Adventure
Adventurers on solar bikes choosing their course through Eurasia. Inspired by unassisted yacht races around the world, the Sun Trip is writing a new page in the world of overland adventures.

The Sun Trip is a showcase for new forms of mobility. Each adventurer is an ambassador of solar energy and eco-mobility, proving their efficiency and their humanist dimension.
Follow us
Géry  Gevers

Géry Gevers

Age 50 years
Nationality Belgian
Participations Sun Trip France 2020

The solar bike of Géry

Bike Hase bike pino all round frame
Motor HS 3540 rear wheel motor from crystalyte europe
Battery 2x 23 Ah - 48Volts
Solar 2 x 200 Wc
Weight 42
Solar bike made from a tandem series bike from the Hase bike brand (Pino - All round model), electrified with robust and simple components (supplier crystalyte Europe), based on the recommendations of Raf van Hulle (multi winner of the sun trip) and help from the preparer "Het Fietslab" in Leuven - Belgium. The trailer is of the single wheel type (to allow to evolve on single tracks) with solar panels fixed very low (to avoid disturbances due to winds and turbulence due to overtaking of trucks). These are superimposed (in taxi mode) or unfolded (in stop-recharge mode).
Géry Gevers

Solo Before Duo

Géry is the co-founder of bay2bay. With his friend Baudouin de Hemptinne, they planned to cross the USA from San Francisco to New York in solar tandem this summer 2020! The crisis changed the game and Géry will be at the start of the Sun Trip France, pending a possible participation of the duo on the Sun Trip Lyon-Canton 2021.

Géry Gevers is an engineer, member of the management of a company manufacturing medical devices for the treatment of cancer. He is also the father of three children. Convinced that it is possible to build a better world, more just for humanity and more sustainable for the planet, he sees the Sun Trip as a natural extension of his commitment.

In Images

His Partners

His Vision of the Sun Trip

“Sun Trip is first of all a human adventure, made up of people sharing common values such as the desire to discover, to share, to surpass themselves mentally and physically, to support each other in order to arrive together at the finish line. It is also a technological adventure allowing to show the world that today, carbon-free mobility is possible, that it is enough of a little daring and to focus a little more its philosophy of life around of happy frugality.”

Copyright - 2020
The Sun Trip utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage).

Sun trip , le monde à vélo solaire !
Le Sun Trip l’aventure à vélo solaire
Des aventuriers en vélos solaires, un parcours en itinéraire libre ! A l’image d’un «Vendée Globe terrestre», le Sun Trip écrit une nouvelle page dans le monde des grandes aventures.

The Sun Trip est une vitrine des nouvelles formes de mobilités. Chacun des aventuriers est ainsi un ambassadeur du solaire et de l’eco-mobilité, en prouvant leur efficacité et leur dimension humaniste.
Suivez-nous
Géry  Gevers

Géry Gevers

Âge 50 ans
Nationalité Belge
Participations Sun Trip France 2020

Le vélo de Géry

Vélo Hase bike pino all round frame
Moteur HS 3540 rear wheel motor from crystalyte europe
Batterie 2x 23 Ah - 48Volts
Solaire 2 x 200 Wc
Poids 42
Vélo solaire fabriqué à partir d'un vélo de série tandem de la marque Hase bike (modele Pino - All round), électrifié avec des composants robustes et simples (fournisseur crystalyte Europe), sur base des recommendations de Raf van Hulle (multi vainqueur du sun trip) et de l'aide du préparateur "Het Fietslab" à Leuven - Belgique. La remorque est de type single wheel (pour permettre d'évoluer sur des single tracks) avec des panneaux solaires fixés très bas (pour éviter les perturbations dues aux vents et turbulences dues aux dépassements de camions). Ces derniers sont superposés (en mode roulage) ou dépliés (en mode arrêt -recharge).
Géry Gevers

En solo avant un duo

Géry est le co-fondateur de bay2bay. Avec son Baudouin de Hemptinne ils avaient prévu de traverser les USA de San Fransisco à New york en tandem solaire cet été 2020 ! La crise a changé la donne et Géry sera au départ du Sun Trip France, en attendant une possible participation du duo sur le Sun Trip Lyon-Canton 2021.

Géry Gevers est ingénieur, membre de la direction d’une société construisant des appareils médicaux pour le traitement du cancer. Il est aussi père de trois enfants.  Convaincu qu’il est possible de construire un monde meilleur, plus juste pour l’humanité et plus pérenne pour la planète, il voit le Sun Trip comme une prolongation naturelle de son engagement.

En photos

Ses partenaires

Sa vision du Sun Trip

« Sun Trip, c’est d’abord une aventure humaine, faite de personnes partageant des valeurs communes telles que le désir de découverte, de partager, de se surpasser mentalement et physiquement, de se soutenir pour d’arriver ensemble à l’arrivée. C’est aussi une aventure technologique permettant de montrer au monde qu’aujourd’hui, une mobilité dé-carbonée est possible, qu’il suffit d’un peu d’audace et d’axer un peu plus sa philosophie de vie autour d’une frugalité heureuse. »

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre notre actualité.
The Sun Trip utilise des cookies sur ce site. Avec votre consentement, nous les utiliserons pour mesurer et analyser l'utilisation du site (cookies analytiques), pour l'adapter à vos intérêts (cookies de personnalisation) et pour vous présenter des publicités et des informations pertinentes (cookies de ciblage).